About Ringgold

The village of Ringgold was incorporated on December 18,1847 when George Towns was Governor and the area was a part of Walker County. The first commissioners, appointed by the legislature, were Michael Dickson, George W. H. Anderson, J .J. Johnson, William Buppord, and D.S. Anderson. They were to continue in office until the first Monday in March 1848. At that time the town's citizens would vote for five commissioners to serve terms of one year. The commissioners had full power to make such by-laws, rules, and regulations as they felt necessary for the improvements and the internal police of the town, provided such laws were not in conflict with the Federal Constitution or the laws of Georgia.